Saturday Night Live, episode five

Generally speaking, I’m not a fan of Cumberbatch but with this being the last episode before the election I was cautiously optimistic. Then I found out that the Cubbies were going to appear as well and was much more excited.

Cold open: McKinnon and Baldwin are just fantastic as Clinton and Trump but this one just took it to the next level. They frolicked. They held hands. They broke the fourth wall. I was a big fan.

Monologue: Cumberbatch went the musical monologue route and was supported by cast members, mainly Leslie Jones. It wasn’t bad.

Koohl Toilet: It was just strange. I had no real use for it one way or the other.

Game show: Did they not know what to do with Cumberbatch?

Office hours: I don’t even know what this was.

Bachelorette party: The poor lady died. Then they bring out Anthony Rizzo, David Ross and Dexter Fowler but even they couldn’t salvage this one.

First song: It sounded good and looked cool.

Weekend Update: These two are spectacular. They have been consistently on point throughout the election season. The cameo by church lady was a nice touch as well. The highlight of the segment was obviously the Cubbies and Bill Murray though, even if that song drives everyone crazy at this point.

Magic at dinner: I’m sure there are people that find this funny but it mostly just confuses me.

Riddle villian: This was probably my favorite sketch. I liked the bits in between the riddles and really, who doesn’t love a riddle?

Second song: The look was a little different from earlier but it was still good.

Mr. Shaw: Kenan’s reactions really mad this a decent sketch. I laughed at it a few times.

I don’t know if it’s because I don’t like Cumberbatch or the content itself but I was not amused by this episode. I really expected more from the last episode before the election but outside of the cold open and Update it wasn’t really mentioned at all. I guess we’ll see what they do post-election next week.

Saturday Night Live is new Nov. 12 with Dave Chappelle hosting.

Leave a Reply

